January 26, 2024

The Honorable Tom Vilsack Secretary U.S. Department of Agriculture 1400 Independence Avenue S.W. Washington, D.C. 20250

Dear Secretary Vilsack:

We are writing to request expeditious action on the Alaska Seafood Marketing Institute's request on behalf of the Alaska seafood industry to purchase Alaska seafood through the USDA Section 32 program. We appreciate what USDA has done to improve seafood consumption in its Food and Nutrition Service program and we urge the USDA to continue Section 32 purchases of Alaska seafood through 2024. These purchases are invaluable in supporting our fishermen, processors, and coastal communities while they attempt to navigate through very unfavorable global market conditions.

Russian sourced fish which are reprocessed in China have flooded the US markets at low prices. While the recent U.S. Executive Order 14068 is intended to close this door, it does not change the fact that seafood processors have been and are forced to sell into the depressed market to further avoid expensive holding costs. This is having an adverse ripple effect back to our fishermen, processors, and fishing communities and is causing constriction of the overall industry.

USDA programs supported by Section 32 funds were designed to provide food-insecure Americans with access to a nutritious diet and to stabilize prices through surplus food distribution. We therefore join a previous request from our Alaska congressional delegation that you proceed with purchases of Alaska seafood, particularly salmon, for Section 32 purchase requests through 2024.

These purchases are badly needed to help stabilize market conditions and decrease inventories prior to the 2024 season. Timing is critical as seafood processors will soon be attempting to obtain financing for the 2024 pack. USDA purchases are critical in helping to support market prices which are the linchpin of the entire U.S. seafood supply chain. Your purchases not only benefit American consumers but our seafood industry which provides more direct jobs than any other industry in our State.

While following through on U.S. seafood purchase commitments as soon as possible is the most direct and timely way to support the Alaska seafood industry during these challenging times, we also seek your support for additional measures at USDA that could serve to support the seafood industry.



Alaska State Legislature

State Capitol, Juneau, Alaska 99801-1182

Seafood is currently not integrated into many USDA policies or programs designed to ensure domestic food security, supply chain integrity, and support for U.S. harvesting and processing businesses, at the same level as terrestrial sources of protein. To the greatest extent possible, we request your leadership in integrating U.S. seafood production into national food policy strategies and all USDA programs designed to support America's food production.

Thank you for considering continued and expeditious Section 32 purchases of Alaska seafood through 2024.

Sincerely,

Senator Gary Stevens

President District C

Senator Bert Stedman District A

Senator Jesse Kiehl

District B

Senator Jesse Bjorkman

District D

Senator James Kaufman

District F

Senator Cathy Giessel Majority Leader

District E

Senator Löki Tobin

District I

Senator Forrest Dunbar

District J

Senator Kelly Merrick

District L

Senator Shelley Hughes

District M

Senator Bill Wielechowski

Biel Waleston

Rules Chair District K

Senator Scott Kawasaki

District P

Senator Robert Myers

District Q

Senator Click Bishop

District R

Senator Lyman Hoffman

District S



Alaska State Legislature

State Capitol, Juneau, Alaska 99801-1182

Senator Elvi Gray-Jackson

Senator David Wilson District N Senator Donny Olson District T

Senator Matt Claman District H

District G

Speaker Rep. Cathy Tilton

District 26 – Wasilla

Rep. Calvin Schrage District 12 – Anchorage

Rep. Dan Ortiz District 1 – Ketchikan

Rep. Sara Hannan District 4 – Juneau

Rep. Alyse Galvin District 14 – Anchorage

Rep. Cliff Groh District 18 – Anchorage Senator Mike Shower District O

Rules Chair Rep. Craig Johnson District 10 - Anchorage

Rep. Louise Stutes District 5 – Kodiak

Rep. Rebecca Himschoot District 2 – Sitka

Rep. Laddie Shaw District 9 - Anchorage

Kaddie 8

Rep. Jennie Armstrong District 16 - Anchorage

Rep. Genevieve Mina District 19 – Anchorage Rep. Andi Story District 3 - Juneau

Rep. Andy Josephson District 13 – Anchorage

Rep. Zack Fields District 17 – Anchorage

Rep. Andrew Gray District 20 – Anchorage



Alaska State Legislature

State Capitol, Juneau, Alaska 99801-1182

Rep. Donna Mears District 21 – Anchorage

Donna C Mears

Rep. Stanley Wright District 22 – Anchorage Rep. Kevin McCabe District 30 – Big Lake

Rep. Maxine Dibert District 31 - Fairbanks

Rep. Mike Prax

District 33 - North Pole

Rep. Ashley Carrick District 35 - Fairbanks

Rep. Bryce Edgmon District 37 - Dillingham

Rep. Neal Foster District 39 - Nome Rep. DeLena Johnson District 25 - Palmer

Rep. Sarah Vance District 6 - Homer

CC:

U.S. Representative Mary Peltola

U.S. Senator Lisa Murkowski

U.S. Senator Dan Sullivan

Governor of Alaska Michael Dunleavy